Since 2008, I have served as part of the Area Chair team for the Science Fiction and Fantasy Area of the Southwest/Texas Popular Culture and American Culture Associations Annual Conference. Other area chairs are Ximena Gallard C. (LaGuardia Community College), Alyson Buckman (California State University-Sacramento), and Brian Cowlishaw (Northeastern State University).

In 2010, my fellow area chairs  and I were awarded the Associations’ Organizational Leadership Award in formal recognition for work fostering growth for our area and the conference as a whole.

Follow the Science Fiction and Fantasy area on Facebook (www.facebook.com/swtxsff) or on Twitter (@ swtxsffchairs)

2012 Conference: February 8-11, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency in Albuquerque, New Mexico (www.swtxpca.org)

See this year’s video CFPs:


We accept proposals for paper or panel presentations on any element of Science Fiction or Fantasy (SFF), although this year we do have special topic CFPs on the following (click on any link for that CFP’s full details):

Deadline for proposals for the 2012 conference is December 1, 2011.

SFF Graduate Student Paper Award:

The SFF Area sponsors the Richard Tuerk “Out of this World” Graduate Student Paper Annual Award. Graduate Students presenting at the annual SWTX PCA/ACA conference are eligible. Deadline for submission is January 1, 2012.

Comments are closed.